Funny how that works, idinit?

Facebook is pretty incredible. You can get in touch with people that you haven’t seen in ages. You know how you’ll run into someone after so many years, you’ll stop and talk for a few minutes, and then that uncomfortable silence sets in? That is just horrible. You never know what to say to finally break it off and get on your way. It’s not that you don’t like that person it’s just that you have been away from each other for so long that your lives don’t have anything in common to talk about. “So, how ya doin’?” “Great. You?” “Good, good….where ya working these days?” “Oh, I’m cleaning toilets at the Greyhound station. You?” “Yeah…..ummm….I’m VP of an international trading company” “Ahh……..” and then you’re stuck with nothing to talk about…..unless the VP is importing toilets for Greyhound stations. God that sucks.

But then there are those few special friends that, no matter how long you’re away from them, when you get together you pick right up like a day hasn’t passed. There are a few people like that in my life and it always feels good to meet up with them. I have a really good friend on Facebook right now that I probably haven’t seen or talked to in over 25 years, until recently that is. He and I have been friends for as long as I can remember. I’m literally talking since we were children. His mom and my mom were really good friends so he and I spent a lot of time together. He’s a few years older than me but not so many that it really mattered in the grand scheme of things.

I remember when we were teenagers he got his license and we’d go driving around on Friday and Saturday nights just going all over the place. He’s actually the one that introduced me to heavy metal music. I don’t know why but I have vivid memories of driving through the parking lot of Western Bowl in a maroon, late 70’s Monte Carlo with Iron Maiden blasting out of the speakers. hahaha!!

Anyway, if this guy sees this he knows who he is. Man, you’ve been a great friend to me for as long as I care to remember. We’ve seen times where we thought we were on top of the world and we’ve seen times where we thought the sun wouldn’t rise the next morning. I swear, man, I love you like you’re flesh and blood.

I don’t know exactly what prompted this note other than I saw a comment recently that just made me smile from ear to ear. I highly doubt that anyone looking at my Facebook page would even be able to find it if they looked for it, but it was really special to me.

And to all my other friends, this doesn’t lessen your importance to me. There are quite a few of you out there that fit into this category with me…..and you know exactly who you are.

That’s all for now. Y’all come back. I’ll leave a light on for ya.

MULLY

 

 

About MULLY

ex-pat American living in Japan since 1991. Love to play guitar and billiards. Love my Cincinnati Bengals too. Who-Dey!!
This entry was posted in Things I think about. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

