Really?

What is it with Americans and their desire for Japanese kanji tattoos? I’ll never understand it. To the people that have them, why do you trust someone in a tattoo parlor? For one, they honestly have no idea what the kanji means. I’ve seen so many kanji tats and more often than not they end up being just some plain word that looks silly being inked into your skin. Second, you do know that kanji is an art, right? These people over here work years and years and years to get the balance of the characters just right. You’re going to trust some American tattoo artist that sees it in a book and decides he can recreate it? Do me a favor, people, if you’re going to get yourself inked, and are determined to get Japanese kanji done, don’t. Or at least try to find a Japanese person to help you pick out the correct kanji for what you’re looking for. Oh, I know I’ll probably get people that want to tell me that theirs is correct, most likely it isn’t. Please, re-think that idea. You might think it looks cool but I can tell you, the Japanese are laughing at you….and so am I.

Y’all come back, I’ll leave a light on for ya.

MULLY

About MULLY

ex-pat American living in Japan since 1991. Love to play guitar and billiards. Love my Cincinnati Bengals too. Who-Dey!!
This entry was posted in Things I think about. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Really?

  1. medicheidiho says:

    I have the funniest picture I saw along the same lines if this post. I’ll send it to you. Hillarious!

  2. lafromla1 says:

    The guy that did my koi and dragon trained in Japan for 7 years before coming to the states and opening his shop. He was also rated in the top 50 in the US for Japanese art in a reputable tattoo magazine (can’t recall which one though, but I did read the article). He is the only one I trust for Japanese ink.

  3. Nathan says:

    The only thing worse is a katakana tattoo. As in, I wanted “UNEMPLOYED” stamped on my chest, so I had the guy do アンエンポロイッド!

    That looks so much better!

    • Nathan says:

      I need to add that this is almost as cool as the guy wearing the sweatshirt with FUCK on it in Roppongi. I mean really….it’s not that great of a word.

  4. Yuka says:

    hahaha! i think so, yeah. i heard a person has japanese tatoo which said 冷蔵庫. i was laughing so much! the person has a fridge on the waist! how (not) cool it is!!!

Leave a Reply

