Confession of a Rock Star

It takes a certain amount of confidence and ego to get up on stage and try to entertain people. I never like to think that I have a big ego but I guess I kind of have to. One thing I can tell you for sure though, I’m scared to death every single time I get up on that stage. Oh, I don’t get nervous playing in front of people, I’m a school teacher, I stand in front of hundreds of people every single day and perform for them. Nope, that’s not what scares me. What scares me is that the band isn’t ready and there are lots of people standing out there, ticket in hand, that have paid to come see us. I don’t want to let them down. After the show is over I don’t need people coming up and praising me, matter of fact, I really try to avoid people after a show because I’m not comfortable with the compliments. But it is my hope that they walk out of there thinking that the band was good and they had a good time and would like to see us again. It’s a huge responsibility that falls entirely on me. I’m the one at the mic. I’m the one they’re watching and I have to have the rubber chicken with me at all times. I’m also in the position of getting the band together for practice. One of the other guys thinks we don’t need a whole lot of practice, and that may be true if we’re just wanting to play songs for ourselves, but again, we’ve got people standing out there that have paid their hard earned money to see us. I can’t let them down. I’m up there for them and I know what they want to see because I’m one of them too.

I have a show this weekend and my mind is racing right now. Are we ready? Do we need to practice one more time? Do I have all my parts down? Can I trust the rest of them to have theirs? And most importantly, are we together with our individual parts? Can we get up on stage as 4 and come out sounding as 1? Mistakes are bound to happen, and I’m fine with that if everyone has put 100% into practicing. It really gets under my skin though if someone doesn’t put the extra effort forth and then makes a mistake. I won’t say anything to them about it until I hear the “Man, I really screwed up”. Once that sentence comes out of their mouth the gloves come off and I let them know exactly why they messed up. 3 days left, the countdown has begun. I hope we’re ready, and with me using the word “hope” like that tells me that we probably aren’t. We play Sunday night at 8:40pm. I have the studio rented from 2 to 4 that afternoon. I will make sure that we are ready, even if it kills me.

 

Y’all come back, I’ll leave the light on for ya.

MULLY

About MULLY

ex-pat American living in Japan since 1991. Love to play guitar and billiards. Love my Cincinnati Bengals too. Who-Dey!!
This entry was posted in Things I think about. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Confession of a Rock Star

  1. Softypapa says:

    Your dedication to making this work will pay off when you are on stage. I admire your desire to make this and every other show the best you can. I will be rooting for you guys on Sunday and am certainly looking forward to the event. ~Kurt 🙂

  2. Yuka says:

    Don’t think too much. Just enjoy 😉

Leave a Reply

