Warmoth Strat????

Hey, hope you guys like the new look of the blog. I think I’ll be changing it up now and then to keep it fresh looking. I just wish there was some way to get like 5 posts on a page instead of everything on one. There might be something in the control panel here to do that but I’ll be damned if I can figure it out. Until then I guess we’re stuck with a page that’s 15 feet long. Sorry about that.

Anyway, a good friend of mine asked what the significance of “Warmoth Strat” is. Well, Warmoth is a guitar parts company in the pacific northwest of the United States. Somewhere up in Washington, can’t think of the exact city. Anywho, I’ve played guitar off and on since high school. I love tinkering with a guitar. Wiring, changing pickups, you name it. One of my dreams was wanting to build my own guitar. I knew I didn’t have the skills, or the tools for that matter, to actually do it though. Then one day I discovered Warmoth. They were originally called Boogie Bodies back in the day. If you know your Van Halen history then you know that the guitar on the cover of the first Van Halen album, the black and white striped strat, is a guitar that Eddie built himself…..using a body and neck he got at Boogie Bodies.

The guitar that changed music forever.

What a lot of people don’t know, other than Van Halen fans that is, is that Eddie took this guitar, taped it off some more, and sprayed it red. It became the infamous “Frankenstein” guitar that we all know and love.

The man!!

Now, to the non-VH enthusiast that may be reading this, this guitar is not to be confused with the 5150 Kramer….

5150

2 different guitars. But the point of all of this is that Eddie himself built his own guitar from a body and neck he found in a trash bin at Boogie Bodies.

As I was wanting to make my own guitar I kept looking at Warmoth’s home page daily for weeks on end for the perfect body to show up. You see, with Warmoth you can order whatever you want, any configuration, tons of different paint jobs etc… or you have the choice of looking in their showcase for bodies and necks that are ready to go. With their showcase you also have the option of a non-painted body that you can do yourself, or they also have bodies that they have painted/finished and are ready to go. I should also say that they have probably the BEST collection of bodies I’ve ever seen. There are so many to choose from that it’s almost impossible to make a decision. Anyway, I had an image in my mind so I was waiting for the right one to show up. You see, Warmoth is not cheap by any stretch of the imagination. Oh, they are more cost efficient than going to Fender’s Custom Shop, but I would never say they are cheap. My first build cost me a total of about $1800.00. Which is pretty expensive, but had I ordered that from Fender $1800 wouldn’t even allow me to look at it. I’m guessing if it was a Fender Custom Shop model it would be in the neighborhood of 4 to 5 thousand dollars. So, yeah, it was cheap, for lack of a better term. Here, take a look at her….

#001

#001 Full shot

It’s an alder body with a maple top, natural taped binding with a cherryburst finish. You can see the white pearl scratch plate and attached to that plate, the meat of the guitar, is a DiMarzio Tone Zone S in the bridge, DiMarzio Area 61 in the center, and a DiMarzio Heavy Blues II in the neck. It’s wired up with one volume and one tone control. The volume control is actually a push/push so it will split the coil on the bridge pup. It also has a Wilkinson tremolo. The neck is AAA grade birdseye maple, back and fingerboard, with a back contour and fingerboard radius of a Peavey Wolfgang. Stainless steel frets, bone nut, and Schaller locking tuning keys. I should also mention that the wiring was all soldered by myself using a solder that has silver mixed in it. I’m not 100% sure if it makes that much of a difference but it didn’t really cost all that much more and people have said you get a clearer sound.

After I got that one together I immediately started itching for a second one. Which I did the following X-mas (a year later) when I got my winter bonus from work. The second one looks like this….

My baby

This one has a chambered Black Korina body with a Black Korina top. It’s painted Alpine White and also has the taped natural binding. The scratch plate is vintage pearl, kind of a yellow tint to it, with a DiMarzio Super Distortion in the bridge, and Van Zandt Blues pups in the center and neck. The tremolo is a Fender American Standard. This one is also wired with one volume and one tone. No tricks for coil splitting though. The neck has a maple back with the Fender standard C contour, and the fingerboard is ebony with a really killer grain in the wood. This one also has stainless steel frets, a bone nut, and Schaller locking tuners. This one tends to be my “go to” guitar.

The leader of the pack.

Just look at the grain in the fingerboard. That is actually considered a defect so it was priced really low. In my opinion, that is far from being a defect, it makes the whole guitar stick out.

So there ya have it. Now you know what a Warmoth Strat is. The reason I use that name is not because I’m some crazed nut that wants to show off his gear. Nope, what happened was that MULLY was already taken, as was MULLYMAN, and any other name I usually use on the web. I didn’t know what to do and when I looked over my guitar was sitting there so I went with that.

If you’re not interested in guitars this entry probably put you to sleep. Matter of fact I doubt you even read this far. hehe! I hope the guitar lovers out there enjoyed it.

Y’all come back, I’ll leave a light on for ya,

MULLY

About MULLY

ex-pat American living in Japan since 1991. Love to play guitar and billiards. Love my Cincinnati Bengals too. Who-Dey!!
This entry was posted in Things I think about. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Warmoth Strat????

  1. LylesBrother says:

    Terrific blog, Jim! Great photos and very interesting story. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, Kurt. I was thinking it may be getting a little long winded as most of the people that hit this blog probably don’t give a rats backside about guitars. hehe!! At least the story is out there though. I also went back in and fixed any typos I had in there.

  2. Mark "Holtinator" says:

    The fingerboard grain “defect” really does stand out. That’s one beautiful guitar!!

    Lovin’ the blog MULLY … I’ve always enjoyed your views and writing. Keep up the good work!!

  3. Bonnie says:

    Thanks, MULLY. Those guitars are so pretty, I’d sleep with them every night.

    I don’t play guitar, but I love reading gearhead stuff because I’m a big geek. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    xoxoxoxo

  4. Marko says:

    I would even sleep with that white strat!! it is so classy!! love it!

    • Thanks, Marko. I fell in love with it when I saw it in the showcase. That fingerboard just sets the whole thing off in the right way. I was really fortunate to find those pieces and at just the right time too, winter bonus time.

  5. Peter says:

    “I just wish there was some way to get like 5 posts on a page instead of everything on one. There might be something in the control panel here to do that but Iโ€™ll be damned if I can figure it out. ”

    Settings => Reading

  6. Pingback: 2010 in review | Warmoth_Strat

  7. JimBeed says:

    Hey, one of the UW guys here, nice post, as with the others.
    before i read further down i thought that ‘defect’ was some kind of funky inlay they dont offer anymore haha,
    Nice job on both!

Leave a Reply

