It’s December? Again?

So the wife and I got the X-mas tree up this past weekend. You know, it seems like we just took the thing down a few weeks ago. Actually, the wife and I are pretty lazy and the tree usually stays up pretty much through January and I can even remember taking it down one year in mid-February, so maybe it has just been a few weeks. hehe!! And since I’m thinking about it, what is the social norm? When is the tree supposed to be taken down? When is it safe to put it up? We usually put it up after the second or third week of November. I like decorating the house for X-mas. It gives me a little slice of America to have in my pocket at that time of the year. I really do love living in Japan, hell, I’ve been here 20 years already, but I have to admit that I still have that place in my heart for the good ol’ US of A. There aren’t many things here that I can wax nostalgic with but X-mas helps me fill that void.

Anyway, X-mas is upon us again and it’s time to go shopping. I’m assuming, from listening to women all my life, that men don’t like to shop. Myself, I love it. I enjoy getting out to the stores and doing my X-mas shopping. I only have one person to shop for so that makes it easy on what shops to go to. And with no other people to buy for she really rakes it in with a ton of presents. I’ve learned to set a limit though. A thousand dollars is the maximum amount for me to spend on X-mas presents. Instead of one big present I like to spread that out on a dozen and a half smaller ones.

I should pull of to the side of the road here for a second and explain the custom of exchanging presents in Japan. Since the Japanese aren’t Christian, heathen, they really don’t have the full concept of what Christmas is. They only know what they have learned from TV and/or us round eyes. Christmas here is all image. It’s not a national holiday. If you’re living in Japan on X-mas day, you gotta go to work like it was any other day. Anyway, with the present exchanges it’s usually relegated to boyfriends and girlfriends buying one small gift for each other, eating X-mas cake, and going out drinking with their friends. Parents may buy their children something but the Japanese don’t have the hoopla like we do. In my house, on December 24th and 25th, it’s America. Tons of presents under the tree, lots of food, and I even went out and bought the good old fashioned X-mas shows that I grew up on on DVD. Next week we’ll have 2 Australians staying with is for the week. We’re having a X-mas party on the 10th for our them. The TV schedule for that night are the claymation classics Rudolph, A Year Without a Santa Claus, Little Drummer Boy and the cartoon classics of Frosty the Snowman and A Charlie Brown Christmas. The Charlie Brown Christmas isn’t one of my favorites though. It’s kind of slow. I prefer the Charlie Brown Kwanzaa on YouTube……..but don’t have the nuggets to show that to people at a party. Haha!! I’ll leave it up to you to go to YouTube yourself if you’re interested ni watching it. It’s probably the funniest thing I’ve ever seen, but with the racial slurs it has I don’t want to link directly to it from my blog. This place isn’t for that kind of stuff.

Anywho, I’m really looking forward to X-mas, as I do each year, but it seems like the year just disappeared on me. The years have seemed to be speeding up ever since I turned 25. Last year I was 25 and I’ll be 43 come February. Where did the time go? I’m at the age now where I’m hearing of people’s parents dying. What is up with that? I’m one generation removed from being on my own and I’m not happy about it. I’m not ready to be the “adult”. That’s always been my parents job. But, we’re beginning to get dark, I don’t want that kind of stuff on my blog either so I’ll cut that talk off there.

Well, welcome to December, everyone. I’m sure I’ll be posting aplenty before the holidays are here so I won’t sign off with X-mas wishes. Just hope that everyone can enjoy the season. Get your trees up and get some presents under them. There’s no way you can come home, look at that, and feel bad.

Y’all come back, I’ll leave a light on for ya,

MULLY

About MULLY

ex-pat American living in Japan since 1991. Love to play guitar and billiards. Love my Cincinnati Bengals too. Who-Dey!!
This entry was posted in Things I think about. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s December? Again?

  1. Jess says:

    Who’s coming from Oz to visit???

Leave a Reply

