The Perfect Ending!

Well, I just got confirmation that my video, 97,000 Toothpicks, won Video Of The Year from YouTube Japan. Unbelievable. This is the perfect end to this story. It all started with a friend of mine telling me that I need to get on YouTube as a vlogger. I scoffed at the idea for months but he kept pushing. I had a live show coming up and I wanted to get a new video camera so I went out and bought one. 2 days later I had it at school with me and decided I’d run in and get a little video of the toothpick art my students put together, so I could show it to my mom.

Well, I shot the video and later that afternoon I started a YouTube channel and posted it up. I sent the URL to my mom and I pretty much figured that would be the end of it. Later that evening the hits had already started. It was over 300 hits in just a few hours. By the next morning it was over 6,000 hits and by the morning after that it was over 11,000. By the 4th day it had reached 52,000 but showed signs of slowing down. Unreal, my first video ever put on YouTube had gone viral. Oddly enough, the day after I put it up it was spotted on CNN in the United States. That video can be seen in my second or 3rd blog entry so peek around in the archives here. It’s right there near the beginning so it shouldn’t be hard to find.

Well, just before X-mas I got mail from YouTube saying that they had nominated it for Video of the Year and they wanted my permission to put it in. Of course I said yes. Well, the voting started just before X-mas and tonight, January 12, 2011, I got word that I won. This is the perfect cap to this story.

I’d like to thank anyone that has been following me and put a vote in for the video. A lot of people said they wanted to pass it on to friends, thank you for that too. Ahhh, the toothpick video has come to an end. I don’t see how it can go anywhere else from here.

Y’all come back, I’ll leave a light on for ya.

MULLY

About MULLY

ex-pat American living in Japan since 1991. Love to play guitar and billiards. Love my Cincinnati Bengals too. Who-Dey!!
This entry was posted in Things I think about. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Perfect Ending!

  1. JY says:

    A truly heartfelt congratulations! You deserve it buddy!

  2. JY says:

    Just wanted to say congrats and it is WELL deserved! Rest on those laurels buddy!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Pefect Ending! | Warmoth_Strat -- Topsy.com

  4. Larry says:

    Congrats Mully……

  5. Aaron says:

    Glad to see that you a couple of other J-Vloggers I follow won awards. Congrats!

  6. sois says:

    This is awesome Mully! Great Job!

Leave a Reply

