Friends

You know, in my opinion, there are so many special things in this world that just make life so much better. A warm towel after your shower on a cold morning, a smile from a child, finding that little bit of extra money in the pocket of a pair of well worn jeans, peanut butter, and most of all, a good friend.

Everyone goes through life meeting people here and there, but how many of them can you truly call a friend? And what is a friend? What is it about a certain person that gives you the push to add them to your list of “friends”? And I’m not talking about Facebook, Twitter, online forums etc… I mean a real friend. Someone you can count on no matter what. In my opinion, Elbert Hubbard summed it up best in “The Notebook”. He wrote, “A friend is someone that knows everything about you, and still likes you.” I couldn’t agree more.

Take care of your friends, everyone. There will be times when they hurt you, and you may be prompted to just say “to Hell with it” and let them go. But, if you are their true friend, you will wait. You can only hope that they consider you a true friend and realize what a shit heel they’ve been acting like towards you. In the end, after all is said and done, everything they are doing now will be long gone, but you will still be there. I hope they see that before it’s too late. I hope they realize the importance of a friendship.

I started writing this post a few days ago when my feelings were all jumbled up. I wrote everything up to this point, and a few things after, but I tucked everything away in the drafts thinking that these words would never be seen by anyone. Mainly because the person that prompted me to write this would definitely see it, and I didn’t want to further agitate the situation at hand. It felt good to just get them out of my head and I was satisfied with that.

My friend contacted me today, out of the blue, and explained what’s been going on in his life. I guess he came to realize that something was wrong in Margaritaville and he just wanted to touch base with me and let me know what it was. That’s what I call a friend. I’m going to back away and let him go about his business. Not that I’m leaving him behind, mind you, but because I love him and want him to get his head on straight.

You know, the fight or flight response is natural, but we are the higher species here. We have the ability to rationalize. Instead of fighting or fleeing from a situation I think people need to sit down and just talk about their feelings. My friend did just that, and I thank him for it. Personally, I can’t understand the situation he is in, but, as his friend, I’m going to do my best to let him work it all out. He just needs to know, no matter how hairy it gets, I’ll always be there for him. And I believe that he’s there for me if it comes down to it.

And hey, if you’re reading this, thanks. That was all I needed to hear. Confusion is no good for anyone.

Y’all come back, I’ll leave the light on for ya,

MULLY

About MULLY

ex-pat American living in Japan since 1991. Love to play guitar and billiards. Love my Cincinnati Bengals too. Who-Dey!!
This entry was posted in Things I think about. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friends

  1. Beautiful, deep words! Very true. Thanks for this… I needed to read this today.

  2. LylesBrother says:

    Thanks for sharing this, friend. You are as wise as you are patient and sincere. I’m a lucky guy to be blessed with your friendship. ~Kurt 🙂

  3. sois says:

    The sensitive side of Mully. Good read.

Leave a Reply

