iPhone 4S?!?!?! Really?

Ok, as most of you know, Apple rolled out their new version of the iPhone sometime over the last 24 hours or so. I’m on the other side of the planet and don’t feel like screwing around with time conversions so that will have to do. So far it seems to be catching a lot of flack around the globe. I have to admit that when I woke up this morning and saw the news on the TV I was extremely disappointed myself. But, I’ve been reading every article that comes down the pipe via Twitter and I’m warming up to the idea of the iPhone 4S more than I was this morning.

You see, when I first saw the news on TV I was just getting the basic of the basic of what they had done with this thing. To me it sounded like it was just an upgrade of the iPhone 4. Almost like they let the 4 go around this past year and a half and they finally worked out the bugs and added a few bells and whistles then decided to regurgitate it back on us. After reading so many articles on it my views have come around.

A good friend of mine over in Korea, Qiranger,  has posted the most positive stuff I’ve seen so far. He seems to get the low down on everything and I’ve never been disappointed with whatever advice or information he’s given me, so, I’m always open to hear what he has to say. Well, he posted on  his blog this morning (The Qiranger Adventures) his take on the iPhone 4S and, after reading it, I’ve warmed to the idea of this new phone. By the way, you can click that link right up there and head over to his blog to see what he has to say about it.

Myself, since I dedicate most of my online time to YouTube, the new camera on the iPhone 4S really appeals to me. 8 megapixels and the ability to shoot 1080 HD video. What more could a vlogger ask for? I do a lot of my vlogging through my iPhone 3GS, but the one thing that has always bothered me is the picture quality…….and not having an inner camera so I can see myself and make sure I’m not cutting off half of my head. The inner camera on the iPhone 4S has me wondering though. Everything I’ve read about this phone, when they’re talking about the camera, they make it a point to say that the back camera shoots the specs I laid out above, but they don’t mention the inner camera. Now, you can sit there and say “Hey, MULLY, you moron, if the back camera has those specs then the inner one does too.” Yeah, you can say that, but WHY do they keep saying the “back camera”? They are specifically pointing out the back camera and not saying anything about the inner one. Common sense would suggest that both cameras are the same, but I’m guessing they’re not. If they were they wouldn’t keep saying “back” camera. We’ll see over the next few days as more questions get answered.

This new iPhone will also have up to 64GB of memory. I’m seeing a 200 dollar price difference between the 16GB model and the 64GB model. Not sure why it’s that much different. I mean, you can go to any computer store and buy “lots ‘o memory” for almost nothing. Oh well, such is the nature of the beast, I guess. I’m also a bit skeptical that the 64GB model will have some options that the other 2 don’t. I mean, it only makes sense, right? Unless you shoot a lot of video in HD there really is no reason to need 64GB. My current iPhone 3GS only has 16GB and after a year and a half with it I still have 7GB to play with. A lot more if I sit down and do a little cleaning. So, there has to be something to suck the people into the 64GB model. Then again, people are gullible and will go for the 64GB just because it’s 64GB. We’ll have to wait and see how that one plays out too.

The new phone is also sporting a dual-core A5 chip. A dual core processor in a phone? Amazing. It will also be loaded with Apple’s  IOS5 operating system. I’m anxious to see what that is like. Other than a larger screen and a new body shape this really is a whole new iPhone. This has led me to believe that the public reaction to this new iPhone would have gone over a whole lot better if they had just named it the 5 instead of the 4S. Granted, people would have complained that the body hadn’t changed but other than that this thing has everything that everyone was wanting. I honestly believe it’s the name. The only way they could have smoothly pulled this name off is if they did change the body and screen size. People would have been like “Ooooh, look at the 4S, that’s bad ass!!” But, Apple rolled out the same old design, same old screen, and kept the name pretty much as it was. Of course people are going to scream.

My final thoughts? I’m interested in this new iPhone and I’ll probably get one. Matter of fact, I’ll probably drop into Softbank on the 14th and set my pre-order so I can get it before Christmas…hopefully. But, with that said, I think Apple really dropped a hot steamy turd with with the way they unveiled it. There was so much waiting and so many rumors flying around. The excitement surrounding this release was at a maximum and then the unveiling was akin to watching paint flake off the wall. They really, really let everyone down. You know, I can understand secrecy and I can understand not getting involved with the rumor mill, but they played both parts so far that the rumors just got so out of control and got so many people so worked up, and then they drop the iPhone 4 on us…..again. The unveiling of the 4 was magical. The second time around though, not so much. I wish I could have been in that room and seen the looks on people’s faces when they showed it for the first time. I bet there were quite a few “WTF?!?” type stares going on.

Anyway, that’s my take on the iPhone 4S. I’ll be getting one, but more for the camera than anything else. I’m kind of glad they stayed with the 4’s body. I have a 3GS and the 4 still looks bold to me. Really looking forward to this.

Y’all come back, I’ll leave a light on for ya,

MULLY

About MULLY

ex-pat American living in Japan since 1991. Love to play guitar and billiards. Love my Cincinnati Bengals too. Who-Dey!!
This entry was posted in Things I think about. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to iPhone 4S?!?!?! Really?

  1. LylesBrother says:

    Nice blog, MULLY! 🙂

  2. Stevehunley says:

    I hear that the software update will be made available for the 4 and the 3GS phones as well?

  3. Nice review. I doubt the front-facing camera will get much of an upgrade. Right now on the 4, it only shoots 640×480 – which is enough for most vlogs, skype, and facetime. I’d really like to see it bumped up to at least 2mp, but I’m not holding my breath.

Leave a Reply

