Wolfgang Van Halen

Well, the Van Halen tour of 2012 has kicked off and I gotta tell ya, from what I’ve seen so far, they are kicking ass and taking names. David Lee Roth should definitely stay away from the upper registers of his voice, but, it’s still great to see them out there having so much fun, or what appears to be fun. This fan couldn’t be happier…………unless they decided to tour Japan.

Let’s address the elephant in the room though, that kid over there on bass. If you haven’t been following the saga that is Van Halen over the years you probably didn’t even know that Michael Anthony was basically kicked out of the group. For what reasons we’ll never know. I have a feeling it’s because he spent his free time playing out with Sammy Hagar. Either way, there is an unfamiliar face over there on the left side of the stage, as we face it of course, and that face belongs to none other than Eddie’s son, Alex’s nephew, Wolfgang Van Halen. Yep, they recruited Eddie’s son to be the bass player of one of the biggest rock bands that has ever graced our presence. Actually, Wolfgang was playing with them on their last tour back in 2007, he was only 16 at the time. He was catching a lot of flack from fans, and rightly so. He was a pudgy teenager standing on stage with, as I said before, one of the greatest bands that has ever graced our presence.

On the 2007 tour I was in total agreement with everyone that was up in arms over that. If there is a Van Halen reunion then Michael Anthony needs to be there. Why is this fat 16 year-old up there with VAN HALEN?!?!?! Eddie must have lost his mind putting that kid up there like that. Just because he’s the son of the greatest rock guitarist to ever live doesn’t mean that he can play.

Well, this is 2012 and this is how I feel now. WOW!!! The kid is now 21 years old, he has grown up, he doesn’t look like a kid anymore, and he can play his ass off. In my heart I will always feel that the classic Van Halen lineup isn’t complete without Mickey, but I gotta tell ya, this kid is good, real good. In my opinion, his bass riffs are what make a lot of these new songs groove so well. Now, I have no idea if those riffs were his doing or his father’s, but, regardless, he can play them…..very well. I like seeing him on stage. The only problem I have now is that he’s 21 and his band mates are pushing 60. After a gig he’s probably ready to party down and have a good time while the other guys are sipping Geritol and getting ready for bed. I would LOVE to see him break off and start his own thing with people his own age…..and that’s not me saying he doesn’t deserve to be in Van Halen, not at all. He’s doing a helluva job up there.

Anyway, not really sure where this was going when I started it but it was just something that was on my mind. Someone rode my ass a little because I put Mike Anthony on a DVD menu and said “This is Mikey’s gig”. The moron that rode me only heard what he wanted to hear and interpreted the rest as he saw fit. My only reason for saying that is because without Mike it’s not the original lineup, just as it’s not the original lineup if Dave isn’t there.

Oh, on a side note, I think the backing vocals on this tour are piped in somehow. Just a suspicion. The backing vocals sound too perfect.

Well, that’s all for now….

Y’all come back, I’ll leave the light on for ya,

MULLY

About MULLY

ex-pat American living in Japan since 1991. Love to play guitar and billiards. Love my Cincinnati Bengals too. Who-Dey!!
This entry was posted in Things I think about and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wolfgang Van Halen

Leave a Reply

