The Day The Music…..Didn’t Arrive

I’m sure by now that you have seen or heard about the Olympic closing ceremony. What a fantastic job they did. Focusing on the history of British music was a great way to keep things exciting. I do have an issue though……what happened to the truly great British bands?

They did a pretty good job, but if I was in charge it would have looked a lot different. I don’t think many people will disagree with me either. Here are the people/groups I would have included

Elton John – How on earth do you introduce the history of British music without Elton John? I’m wondering if there was something preventing him from being there.

Led Zeppelin – To show off British music and not include Led Zeppelin is a crime. It also surprises me because Jimmy did the closing in Beijing. What a slap in the face.

Eric Clapton – Really? No Clapton? Were they out of their minds?

Def Leppard – Ok, maybe not so iconic, but c’mon, better than the Kaiser Chiefs butchering a Who classic.

The Rolling Stones – Arguably the biggest band out of England next to the Beatles.

Jimi Hendrix Experience – Ok, technically, Jimi was American, but his band was formed in England and that was where they reached their initial success. I relate the JHE to England the way AC/DC is related to Australia.

Black Sabbath – Ok, I’ll go 50/50 on this one BUT, the hard rock/heavy metal music we listen to today leads directly back to Black Sabbath. They are definitely the Godfather’s of hard rock music. Now, if they are Olympic material, not sure, but their place in British music can not be denied and they would have been a much better choice than Russel Brand lip synching a Beatles tune. Not trying to say that the Beatles shouldn’t have been spotlighted, that’s just insanity.

The Police/Sting – Really? No Sting?

In my opinion, the history of British rock music is not complete without adding the people/bands above. With that said, here are the honorable mentions

The Clash, Fleetwood Mac, Deep Purple, Joe Cocker, Iron Maiden, The Yardbirds, Dire Straits, Jethro Tull, King Crimson, Rod Stewart, Sex Pistols, Genesis, Peter Gabriel, Yes, Jeff Beck, Peter Frampton, Judas Priest, White Snake, T-Rex, and the list could go on.

Look, I’m not saying that all of these bands I’ve listed would have been perfect for the Olympic ceremonies, but I am saying that any one of them would have been better than those cheesy boy bands. Some of the stuff they paraded out there for us was just garbage. And I’m sorry, Motorhead would eat One Direction for breakfast.

So, tell me what you think. Hit that comment section below.

Y’all come back, I’ll leave the light on for ya.

MULLY

About MULLY

ex-pat American living in Japan since 1991. Love to play guitar and billiards. Love my Cincinnati Bengals too. Who-Dey!!
This entry was posted in Things I think about and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

