Geocaching And Worldwide Challenges

As some of you already know, I am into Geocaching. Now, I’m sure there are quite a few of you sitting there saying to yourself “MULLY, what in the world is Geocaching?” I think the Geocaching homepage can describe it better than I can so here is a snippet from their site…

Geocaching is a real-world, outdoor treasure hunting game using GPS-enabled devices. Participants navigate to a specific set of GPS coordinates and then attempt to find the geocache (container) hidden at that location.

At its simplest level, geocaching requires these 8 steps:

  1. Register for a free Basic Membership.
  2. Visit the “Hide & Seek a Cache” page.
  3. Enter your postal code and click “search.”
  4. Choose any geocache from the list and click on its name.
  5. Enter the coordinates of the geocache into your GPS Device.
  6. Use your GPS device to assist you in finding the hidden geocache.
  7. Sign the logbook and return the geocache to its original location.
  8. Share your geocaching stories and photos online.

Ok, so there you go. That is geocaching and I can tell you, it’s a heck of a lot of fun. It’s a great way to get outside and get a little exercise. I’ve also found that geocaching has taken me to places that I’ve never been before and I’ve seen so many cool new things.

Along with geocaching there is another part of the game that is called “Challenges”. Again, the geocaching homepage can explain it better than I…

Go somewhere, do something. That is the basic idea behind Geocaching Challenges. You might be challenged to hike the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, sing a song in the middle of Times Square, or take a picture of yourself walking through the Brandenburg Gate in Berlin.

Yep, fairly basic. Challenges are issued and you can choose to accept the challenge then report back when you’ve completed it.

A friend of mine here in Japan, Okininjakitty, down in Okinawa, posted a Tumblr post today about challenges. Here’s the link to her post……  http://okininjakitty.tumblr.com/post/36785006532/geocaching-part-7

I was happily surprised to read her opinion on the challenges. You see, I’ve been doing this for about 2 years now and I’ve completed a few challenges. I think they’re really fun. Just as much fun as geocaching. Oddly enough though the geocaching world is split heavily on this topic. Some people like them and others think they’re the worst thing ever and don’t deserve a spot on the geocaching homepage. Some people, as the internet is oft to do, get really hot under the collar about the challenges. I really can’t understand why people get so bent out of shape about them. I mean, if you’re not interested then stay away from that part of the homepage. Why try to ruin it for those of us that enjoy them?

Another fun part of geocaching is waymarking. Oh, Kitty and Russ, I hope you guys see this post and look into waymarking. It is so much fun. The downside to waymarking is that not a lot of people actually go after your waymarks. It can be a bit unfulfilling as far as that is concerned. But, if you’re out and about you can go searching for them or you can set your own. For more information on waymarking check out…. http://www.waymarking.com/help/faq.aspx

That’s all for now, kids.

Y’all come back. I’ll leave the light on for ya.

MULLY

About MULLY

ex-pat American living in Japan since 1991. Love to play guitar and billiards. Love my Cincinnati Bengals too. Who-Dey!!
This entry was posted in Things I think about. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Geocaching And Worldwide Challenges

  1. It’s an activity that I’ve been meaning to jump into. I thought caches were sparse around here, but some colleagues tell me otherwise.

Leave a Reply

